How are Pokémon tiers determined?

What do all the Pokémon tiers mean?

Pokémon are assigned to several tiers: Ubers, Standard aka Overused (OU), Borderline (BL), Underused (UU), Never used (NU). Standard, as it implies, is the general and ‘normal’ environment for Competitive Pokémon Battling.

What are the tiers for Competitive Pokémon?

Generally, Pokémon are been split into tiers based on how they hold up in competition — Uber, OverUsed (OU), Borderline (BL), UnderUsed (UU), NeverUsed (NU), and Limbo. Most found in competitive play are found in the Uber or OverUsed tiers.

How are Smogon tiers determined?

Our tiering is based on aggregate usage over three-month spans. Every three months, our tiers are “refreshed”, so to speak, and Pokémon rise and drop based on their usage for the past three months. With this in mind, there are many Pokémon that can and do work in tiers higher than the tier they are listed under.

Do tiers matter Pokémon?

Smogon tiers are entirely fan-made and only matter when playing on Smogon’s external simulator. They have no effect on ranked online play.

Why is Wobbuffet banned?

Wobbuffet is banned for two reasons. The first is that the generally accepted definition of a counter is that you can switch in a Pokemon and then defeat or scare off the enemy, and Wobbuffet prevents anything from switching in. The second is that Wobbuffet vs.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you transfer Pokemon from one box to another?

Why is swagger banned Smogon?

The reason for the ban was largely to stop the strategy known as SwagPlay. This is where a Pokemon, especially a prankster user like Klefki or Liepard, used Swagger, Thunder Wave, and Foul Play. Confusion + Paralysis makes the victim extremely unlikely to attack.

Why is Mewtwo banned?

9 Mewtwo Is Simply Too Strong For Competitive Pokémon Play

Boasting a massive 700 Base Stat total, Mewtwo is rightly banned from competitive play unless the format includes Legendary Pokémon. Mewtwo has a diverse move pool, capable of carrying super-effective moves for anything that can touch it.

Is OU better than uu?

UU Banlist (UUBL)

A UUBL Pokemon isn’t necessarily weaker than an OU Pokemon. UUBL Pokemon, however, are used less for reasons such as requiring additional team support or simply being outclassed by another Pokemon in a specific role.

Why is mega rayquaza banned?

It is tied with Mega Mewtwo Pokémon for the highest base stats of any Pokémon ever – 780 or about the firepower of 2.5 Pikachus. Therefore, the banning of Mega Rayquaza is related to its own abilities: … Its move known as “Dragon Ascent” can conquest nearly any Pokémon in the battle in one hit.

What do tiers mean in Smogon?

Tiers are Smogon’s way of categorizing Pokémon based on usage. Pokémon can be banned from the tier or move up to higher tier from their usage. Typically, they are updated after three months of usage statistics from Smogon’s simulator, Pokémon Showdown.

What does UUBL mean?

UUBL (UnderUsed Banlist) is the banlist for UU and is not a playable tier. UUBL Pokémon are not OU by usage (i.e., they do not have above 3.41% usage in OU) but cannot be used in UU, RU, NU, or PU.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Do you have to pay for Pokemon Sword DLC?